Wednesday, March 25, 2009

Street Naming Committee discusses system application mechanism

Street Naming Committee discusses system application mechanism

The Dubai Streets Naming Committee held its fourth meeting chaired by Eng. Hussein Nasser Lootah, Director General of Dubai Municipality continuing its discussions to develop a mechanism for the application and implementation of the street naming system in Dubai.

During the meeting, which discussed the general classification plan of areas in Jumeirah sector, Mr. Lootah stressed on the need to determine the identity of each region to have implications to ensure clarity and accessibility of the location, so as to ensure establishing the locations and the names in these areas.

The meeting also reviewed the proposals of the team for the Industrial Area, Dubai Financial Centre, Sufooh-1, Sufooh-2 and Dubai Marina, and the identity of each area was determined.

The committee was keen to put simple and easy names appropriate to each area taking into account the historic nature of the emirate and the events associated with the areas as well as the names inherited from the old generations. It also took into consideration the names agreed upon by the people of a single area for their streets, in addition to coordinating the names of the streets and linking them with other streets connected with them.

The first phase of the project includes selection of appropriate names for all the streets of Dubai, taking into account the standards adopted by the committee, which emphasizes on traditional and old names that have been circulated for generations, and also the logical sequence of the names of the streets connected to the sea, land, types of fish, fishing gear, names of ships and names connected to different fields.

In the final phase, the Deputy Ruler of Dubai, UAE Minister of Finance and Industry and Chairman of Dubai Municipality Sheikh Hamdan Bin Rashid Al Maktoum will be briefed on the list of names proposed for adoption based on the divisions of areas prepared for the streets of the emirate. The areas are divided into 12 such as the heritage and old Souq area, the coastal zone, mixed housing areas, areas parallel to Dubai Creek, the industrial areas, residential areas of nationals, special financial zones, palace and private housing areas, academic and cultural areas, rural areas, International Cities area and the free zones.

The committee members, who attended the meeting, include AbdulRahman Saif Al Ghurair, Butti Saeed Al Kindi, Bilal Al Budoor, Jamal Khalfan Bin Howairib, Saleh Saeed Lootah, Ibrahim Belselah, Abdullah Ghobash, Juma Khalifa Bin Thalith, Jamal Majid Al Ghurair and Eng. Dawood Al Hajiri, Director of Planning Department in the Municipality, who is the coordinator of the committee.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Widget by LinkWithin